Friday, 14 June 2013

Iran's 11th Presidential Elections Start

Tehran, SANA_ Iranian voters started casting their ballots at 8 am local time of Tehran (3:30 GMT) on Friday to elect their president for the next four years.
Some 50 million Iranians are eligible to take part in the presidential election.
The six candidates in Iran’s presidential election are President of the Expediency Council’s Center for Strategic Research Hassan Rohani, Supreme National Security Council Secretary Saeed Jalili, Expediency Council Secretary Mohsen Rezaei, Tehran Mayor Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf, former foreign minister Ali Akbar Velayati, and former Telecommunications minister Mohammad Gharazi.
Former Majlis speaker Gholam Riza Haddad-Adel and former First Vice President Mohammad Reza Aref withdrew their candidacies earlier this week.
Polls will close at 6 pm, but voting hours could be extended if necessary. Ballot counting will start at 24:00 tonight and final results will be announced in the next 24 hours after the election.
People throughout the country will also cast their ballots to elect members of the local councils concurrent with the presidential election today.
Casting his vote for the 11th presidential election, Supreme Leader of the Iranian Revolution Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khamenei urged Iranians to actively take part in the election.


Post a Comment

Arabic Encyclopedia